Call Now

University of Madras

Updated on: Apr 12, 2013
The University of Madras was among the three oldest universities established by the British India. The proposal for setting up a varsity in South India was initiated in the year 1839. It was only in January 1840 that the University Board was constituted with Mr. George Norton as its President.

In 1854 after a gap of 14 years the Government of India formulated a systematic educational policy for India and as a sequel to this on 5th September 1857 by an act of legislative council of India, the University was developed on the lines of London University.

At present, the University has a jurisdiction that is confined to 3 districts of Tamil Nadu – Chennai, Thrivallur and Kanchipuram. The university provides affiliation to the newly established colleges which fall under its jurisdiction. It offers both Under Graduate and Post Graduate Education through its dedicated departments and affiliated institutions which are spread over these three districts.

Apart from teaching, research activities in Arts, Humanities, Science, Management and Technology are the main portals at the University. A number of institutions affiliated to Madras University Concentrate in research activities.

The varsity offers teaching and research in 4 Campuses of Madras University. The University Department of study and Research which are 68 Departments spread over in 4 Campuses organized into 18 Schools offer Post Graduate Courses in respective specialization part time and full time Ph.D. Programs, Diploma and Certificate Programs.

Owing to its academic achievements, Madras University has been accreditation with five star status by the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) of the UGC. The UGC has also recognized Madras University as the first centre for potentials of excellence in the Country.

For further information related to Madras University click on the links provided below:
Subscribe to our newsletter